2006.09.23

Spent a great deal of time today on a work-around for a problem I discovered with the blog. All in all it was a very interesting exercise.

Another discovery made while setting up this blog was the number of other blogs tagged “citizenship.” Most tie the concept into the current immigration debate. I haven’t come across one focused on the practice of “good citizenship” yet, but then I haven’t really made a search yet.

My point is that even I entertain two different concepts of the term “citizenship” and I hadn’t noticed that before. There’s the image of new naturalized citizens being sworn in, and the association of the responsibilities of “good citizenship” in a sort of pre-Woodstock kind of way. It’s the old privilege-responsibility duality I guess — one is an award or goal, and the other is a responsibility or duty.

-30-

Leave a Reply

